View Past SARBS Award Winners (2019)

View Past CWEA Award Winners


Are you proud of your work, your colleagues, your plant, or your team? Make it known and apply for the CWEA/SARBS 2020 Awards! APPLY NOW!

Applications are due: September 30, 2021

The application forms will be available online and linked above! There are over 20 categories for CWEA/SARBS awards. Each one has been designed to honor exceptional CWEA/SARBS members and California wastewater professionals, facilities and agencies. Nominations for our local SARBS section awards use the state CWEA forms and should be submitted through the online CWEA process. The SARBS awards nominations will be reviewed and winners announced at our SARBS Awards Banquet. The SARBS awards winners will be automatically submitted to the state level and winners at that level will be announced at the CWEA annual conference. Our local SARBS Awards Chairperson is Steve Cano, who can be contacted at if you have questions. Here’s what you need to do:

GETTING STARTED: Supplemental Application Instructions can be found here.

Need more help with the application process? Watch the video tutorial here.

The aim of this annual competition is to encourage outstanding achievements within the water environment field, improve the professional status of all personnel working in the field, and stimulate public awareness of the importance of wastewater treatment to public health and the water environment.





Award Title Description
Collection System of the Year (Small, Medium, Large) Given in recognition of outstanding maintenance programs, regulatory compliance and safety & training procedures. Awards are given in three categories: Small, Medium and Large.
Collection System Person of the Year Recognizes an individual for their innovation and excellence in collection systems maintenance.
Community Engagement & Outreach Best Use of Social Media Recognizes achievements in promoting awareness and understanding of water quality issues through the use of social media.
Community Engagement & Outreach Person of the Year Recognizes an individual’s achievements in promoting awareness and understanding of water quality issues.
Community Engagement & Outreach Program of the Year (Small, Large) Recognizes significant achievements in promoting awareness and understanding of water quality issues. There are two categories – small and large.
Electrical Instrumentation Person of the Year Recognizes significant contributions to the field and an individual’s contribution to CWEA.
Engineering Achievement Recognizes outstanding projects by an individual, group or agency.
Laboratory Person of the Year Recognizes involvement in projects that advance the science of laboratory technology and an individual’s contributions to CWEA.
Mechanical Technician of the Year Recognizes outstanding performance, dedication to the job, and for sharing knowledge of maintenance procedures.
Operator of the Year Recognizes outstanding contributions to the operations of wastewater treatment facilities and the application of knowledge to improve plant processes.
Outstanding Young Professional of the Year Recognizes professionals who demonstrate excellence in the profession and are under the age of 35.
P3S Person of the Year Recognizes P3S professionals for exceptional achievement and contribution to the profession while being an active member of the CWEA.
Plant of the Year (Small, Medium, Large) Recognizes accomplishments in compliance, innovative practices, cost effectiveness, and superior plant performance in small, medium and large categories.
Research Achievement Recognizes outstanding engineering research by an individual, group, or agency.
Safety Plant of the Year (Small, Medium, Large) Awarded in three categories: small, medium and large. Criteria include number of injuries, lost-time accidents, record keeping, in-house training, emergency response and program implementation.
Supervisor of the Year Recognizes successful mentoring of team members, professional development, and effective communication. CWEA’s Leadership Development Committee selects the winner.

Participating in the CWEA awards program is well worth it:

  • Acknowledges team and individual excellence. Boosts employee morale and agency pride. Celebrates and recognizes good work.
  • Benchmarks accomplishments in the field.
  • Analyzes and evaluates annual progress.
  • Raises organizational profile in the community – and with ratepayers, public officials and board members.
  • Gives the media something constructive to report. Free positive publicity.
  • Increases results and productivity through friendly competition.
  • Attracts and retains talent. Adds a vote of confidence for new hires. Helps identify best candidates.
  • Reinforces agency and sector direction. Adds credibility to claims of excellence in regards to environmental record, public health or employee safety, among many others

Awards are given at the Local Section (SARBS) level first; recipients then advance to the State competition. Nominations that advance through CWEA’s 17 local sections’ awards programs plus a select group of special awards are eligible to compete statewide.

Click here for the application!